Dive Agar 16 May 2006

We started early from Pune around 7:30 am in the morning. We started towards the Tamhini ghat skirting Mulashi Dam from the left, stopped at GreenGate resort for breakfat. The khichadi there was delicious.

Tamhini Ghat – The climb towards the ghat boasts of number of waterfalls. It is a favorite monsoon haunt.  This area was covered by thick forest not 5 -6 years back. You could almost believe a leopard walking down the road. But unfortunately the forest cover is receding rapidly.

Tamhini Ghat

Tamhini ghat has a very deep and narrow ridge. It always reminds me of the ridges shown in star wars pod stunts. From  the top of Tamhini you can see the kokan stretched in front of you and ranges after mountain ranges of Sahyadri.

montainranges.jpg

While climbing down the Tamhini ghat and going towards Mangao, you can see Raigad towards your left. At Mangaon you reach Mumbai Panaji highway. Cross the highway and head towards Mhasala, to take a turn and reach Dive Agar.

After the initial fiasco of stinking rooms and too HOT food (Man was it HOT or What?) We scouted a two room Banglow very near to the Bapat Khanaval. The banglow was called “MadhuMalati” It had big front yard and stood in its own palm grove. It is called “Vadi” in Kokan. Coconut and Betalnut trees interspersed with jackfruit and other trees. Irrigated by the well and pump fitted on it for drawing water. The greenery were peeping from the windows curious about the newcomers.

green2.jpg

And could Ranades be ever far from cats? This was one majestic black cat …

dive_agar_cat.jpg

We headed for the beach in the evening. The beach is sprawling and nearly deserted. Not many people around. We wrestled with the waves for sometime. The sea was a bit choppy I think due to the Monsoon winds starting. Just lying their at the border of the sea and and sand was very relaxing. You could feel the stress and fatigue being blown away with the sea breeze.

dive_agar_beach.jpg

dive_agar_sunset.jpg

This evening we had a sumptuous “Kokansth” meal at Bapat’s Khanaval. “Kokanasth Bramhan” way of cooking is not to be confused with the Kokani food at Malvani restaurants. For one it is vegetarian and bland. The masala used is different too. “Ukadiche Modak” is a kokanasth delicacy made of sweet coconut stuffing in the steamed rice flour covering. Umm out of this world. The bachcha party was very happy with the food. Everybody stuffed on Modaks, Mirgunde and butter milk.

Addition 10th Jan 2009 –  There are lot of queries about contact numbers for Dive Agar.  So here they are :

A good place to stay at in Dive Agar –

AnandYatri – Dive Agar contact number –  09323137055

Pune contact – 02024217953

46 thoughts on “Dive Agar 16 May 2006

    1. Prathamesh Holiday Homes, I found this is the best resort in DiveAgar for accomodation as I visited alots of time to diveagar. The food specially AUTHENTIC and I mesn it

  1. Excellent, picture & i am shure you all had a galla time
    I am also planning to go there some time from now.

    Could you pl. send across some more details regarding the route to follow & few more place to stay & visit.

  2. Hi …. Could you please mail me also , the contact details for food and accomodation there ? ( Bapat Khanaval ) ……. Also any idea about other places to visit nearby Diveagar ?
    Thanks …..

  3. Hi …. I am also planning to go there some time from now.

    Could you pl. send across some more details regarding the route to follow & few more place to stay & visit.

    Could you please mail me also , the contact details for food and accomodation there ? Also any idea about other places to visit nearby Diveagar ?
    Thanks …..

  4. HI,
    kindly send me the onctact details of Diveagar and the contact person . since we are planning a overnight stay over there with around 30 to 60 people.

    Regards,
    Hemraj
    9833137209

  5. Hi, good morning. I was impressed about the place from your photographs. Can you pleas inform us about the telephone numbers of Bapat Khanaval & the bunglow where you stayed. Regards. Ajit Desai

  6. Hi..
    Me and my wife are planning to visit Diveagar.
    Could you plj send me contact num of Mr. Bapat and the place whr you stayed?
    Kapil

  7. hi ..
    Cud u plz send me address n phone number of some cottages or hotel at dive aghar… we r plannin to visit in new year.. ur artical has made me more enthu to visit there 🙂
    Aditi

  8. I am also planning to go there some time in November.

    Could you pl. send across some more details regarding the route from PUNE to follow & few more places nearby to stay & visit.

  9. Can you provide me the route and contact details of the cottage. We are planning to visit there this December 2007.

    Thanks
    Yogesh Nawale

  10. Hi,
    Good Info. looking forward to visit Dive Agar on 23 rd Dec ’07 with family. Total 15 members. Kindly send me the contact nos. & address of the cottage u stayed. We have two 1 yr. old kids with us. Hope the cottage & food is hygienic. If possible also let me know road route from Mumbai. Kilometers, etc. Thanks & Regards.

  11. Hi,
    Good Info. looking forward to visit Dive Agar on 30 th Dec ‘07 with family. Total 3 members. Kindly send me the contact nos. & address of the cottage u stayed. We have 3 yr. old kid with us. Hope the cottage & food is hygienic. If possible also let me know road route from Pune. Kilometers, etc. Thanks & Regards.

  12. Hi,
    Good Info. looking forward to visit Dive Agar on 29 th Dec ‘07 with friends. Total 9 members. Kindly send me the contact nos. & address of the cottage u stayed. Hope the cottage & food is hygienic. If possible also let me know road route from Pune. Kilometers.And other places near to Diveagar to visit and enjoy. Thanks & Regards.

  13. hi it is very amazing place to visit. can you send me the phone number of Mr. Bapat and Bunglow owner we are planning to go in next month

  14. hi the experience you’v shared is very exiting.im planning a trip to diveagar. please send me the contact no. and tariff of bapat khanaval n the place you stayed.we start our journey from pune university so please guide me to my destination. waiting for your reply. as per my investigations we have found out about a place called ambience cottage do u have any idea about it? please reply a.s.a.p. if possible please e-mail me yourtelephone no. so i can contact u. thankyou

  15. HI can you let me know the positions of DIVE AGAR, HARIHARESHWAR,
    SHRIVARDHAN, GANPATI PHULE.
    Can i cover all of them in two days? We want resonable accomodation as we are students, so can how much lowest can we expect?

  16. Hi

    I’d really appreciate if I could get the telephone number for Bapat Khanaval, I will be taking my team for an overnight stay the following weekend. The number if made avaliable by Tuesday or Wednesday will really give me a chance to set this up for my team.

    Thanks and Best Regards

    Amit Deane

  17. 1. Where did you get stinking rooms? So that we can avoid that place.
    2. Would like to have the contact numbers of all places that you recommend.

    Thank you!

  18. Hi,

    Me and my wife along with my son are going to Diveagar on 18-10-08, plz tell me what the correct to go on beach for photography,

    Your captures are simply suprb. .

    Santosh

  19. Hi …. Could you please mail me also , the contact details for food and accomodation there ? ( Bapat Khanaval ) ……. Also any idea about other places to visit nearby Diveagar ?
    Thanks …..

  20. I just had a trip to Diveagar & we spent awesome time on the beach. The water was clean and we had a gala time enjoying ourselves. Riding our bikes in the sea water was an amazing experience for us.
    For food Bapat Khanawal was good for Vegeterians & Patil Khanawal for Non-Veg lovers. In Short Diveagar Rocks ! ! !. The Suvarna ganpati mandir was also good, its very simple indeed but an important one. We stayed at “Anahat Cottages” and that was very cheap too. The service over there was also good. The facilities in the Cottage were of Color TV, 24 hrs hot water, separate hall for Drinks & Food with TV, Long Coconut & Supari baug (garden) behind the cottages. In short it was a rocking trip for us.
    Route => Lonavala -> khopoli -> Pali -> Mangaon -> Mhasala -> Borli -> Diveagar. It was a total journey of 215 kms approx but its not tiring at all on 2 wheeler.

  21. awesome review…gr8 help for me as i am plannin to go there next weekend….can u plz mail me the contact number of BAPAT khanaval?

  22. I would suggest for accomodation Prathamesh Holiday Homes is the best option as I am as visited this place lots of time. Nice and homely service staff with all aminities. Bapat Khanawal no for food is 9423837967 but I found you will gat the memorabel food at this resort also contact details are 9890617287, 9763237733

  23. Good website! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a great day! gdfbgdgdkabd

Leave a comment